Look Through

Original source material

We Are For Sale: Visual Project

Those of you who follow my ‘work’  will start to see recurring themes.  When it comes to taking photos I have a fascination with inanimate objects.  In particular, I love figurines, dolls, masks, statues, mannequins and anything else that was created to imitate people and animals.  I also love fake landscapes, the tackier the better.  These pictures were taken at The Screen Door and Tobacco Barn, both here in Asheville. It’s very easy to take endless pictures of porcelain figures as there are so many, but after a while they all start to blend into one mass of ceramic blandness.  When this happens I look for pieces that look expressive or are bizarre.  Old dolls are always a huge deal to me because I find them disturbing – the soft, shapeless body coupled with the carefully molded face and arms are so odd.
The last group I published here had been edited in Picasa, but these are as is.

I wouldn’t dare call this photography I am still using my cell phone!  I would like to thank my husband for his infinite patience in the blistering heat while I wondered off snapping anything weird or creepy. I Foresee an addiction coming on!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “We Are For Sale: Visual Project

  1. Noctural Nath
    August 19, 2012

    yep really like what youve done here

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2012 by in Visual Art, Work in Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Categories

Copyright: Elizabeth Watkin

All work on this blog belongs to the author Elizabeth Watkin and must not be reproduced without permission.

